Fraudsters reactivate old Netflix accounts


A BBC Radio 4 investigation has uncovered how criminals have reactivated old Netflix accounts, leaving former customers out of pocket.

The investigation by the You and Yours programme found that so-called lifetime accounts are being offered by criminals from just £3, with former customers footing the bill.

These former customers of Netflix are finding that criminals have hacked into their old accounts, reactivated them, changed the password and email address, assigning to them to a new user, but kept the original bank billing details.

As a result, customers affected by the fraud only notice something is wrong when they see Netflix withdrawing money again from their account.

Netflix told the BBC that they wanted it to be easy for customers to rejoin Netflix, so kept customer's details for 10 months and that it "takes the security of its customers data very seriously."