That's TV launches new structure

Local TV network That's TV has started 2020 with a revamp of its local news structure, with new regional names for many of its services.

The network of local stations, broadcast on either Freeview channel 7 or 8, depending on region, has been on-air for between three and six years and undergone major changes since launch.

Since last month, That's TV channels now simulcast CBS Reality or TJC during the day and CBS Reality from 9pm in the evening as part of a new networked schedule.

From today, That's TV has revamped its local news strand, now broadcast in a loop between 6pm and 9pm every evening. The stations have now officially moved to regional structure, with That's TV Salisbury now known as That's TV Wessex, That's TV Surrey now going under the name of That's TV South East and the former Mustard TV channel That's Norfolk as That's TV East. Swansea's local channel is now That's TV South Wales, while Oxford now goes under the That's TV South Midlands branding.

The new structure follows a move to seven regional hubs which produce the regional output, which is often shared across stations in the network. It's understood the stations were already being broadcast via hubs following a scandal involving student journalists which led to many of its campus-based facilities being closed.

The new names mask the fact that many of the stations are only available in a certain number of locations within each region due to the way local TV stations were allocated frequencies covering smaller sections of a traditionally sized ITV or BBC TV region. That's TV is not distributed via satellite, and local TV is only available in some areas via cable networks. The changes follow an Ofcom review into the local TV service operated by That's TV last year.

That's TV operates local TV in locations including Aberdeen, Ayr, Basingstoke, Blackpool, Cambridge, Carlisle, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Guildford, Hull, Norwich, Oxford, Reading, Salisbury, Southampton, Swansea and York.